Poets logo

Another Morning, Another Day

Open heart surgery free-verse poetry

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Another Morning, Another Day
Photo by Nick Herasimenka on Unsplash

Oh

Look

Awake again.

Another morning

Another day

Heart didn't give up

Breathing didn't give stop

That hole I fell down

Didn't lead to the abyss

The monster didn't kill me

Who's the real monster?

I should be happy

I might be happy

Sometimes

Just sometimes

I am

Happy

Until

Until I realise

Until it hits me

Like a bowling ball

To the gut

Who I am

What I've done

Happier days

Happier occasions

They help

Chase the nightmares away

The nightmares I caused

But its only temporary

Shaking off the past

Easier said than done

When it's infecting

My present and future

The hurt it causes

When people see

Jekyll but not Hyde

When people who have faced

Hyde

Find it hard to remember

Jekyll

Because the cycle

they've endured

The cycle

Of pain, suffering

Of suffering, pain

Let down after let down

Misery, misery

again, again and again

They deserve the kindness

The sympathy

The respect

I'm fighting my demons

Yes

But they've been fighting

and surviving them

For longer

I resent and despise

The times and ways

I've made them cry

Bled their emotions dry

Taken their love

Not protected it

At times

I am my own

Unreliable narrator

See things differently

Internally

Ignoring or oblivious

to what's happening

Externally

Trying to undo

Years of hurt

Years of distrust

Years spent

making same old mistakes

Seeing things

As better

Plasters and banages

Over wounds

Won't heal them

If they are still

Infected and unclean

*

Oh

look

Awake again

Another morning

Face the day or fade away

Ending it all, is not the way

At least

not today

#

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I'm okay...or will be.

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    OOF! Bowling ball, meet gut ❤

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I always appreciate the honesty in your work, my friend! Some really deep stuff here and I want to send you a hug ❤️ I loved the decision in the ending. I've been on a bit of a break from Vocal but I'll be back soon to read more of your amazing words! 🤗

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I agree with Dharrsheena, but I also respect the honesty of your work, as always. The ending was perfect. 👏🏼

  • Sir Paul, you're being too hard on yourself. You gotta forgive yourself and let it go. But I hope writing this made you feel better 🍩🥐

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    So glad you're ok! So grateful for your Vocal contributions!

  • Not today, my friend. And tomorrow is just another. One day at a time.

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Deep.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Hey, brutally honest, but somehow sweet and comforting. Really great poem, hits the core of things. Applause!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I like this. And I consider the J & H in all of us some days... Stay strong!💪

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I don’t know what you are going through, but I do really hope all is alright in your world or that it will be like you said. Thanks for sharing that great but depressing song lol I haven’t heard that band before.😊

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    Such raw emotion here, Paul. You truly opened your heart to us in this poem. Thank you for that gift.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    You have such a way with words; describing this feeling of like surprise you’re still here, but resigned to the fact if won’t be like that always. This too shall pass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.