Poets logo

Another Garden Book

Published in The Hole in the Head review

By Zoë HalsePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

We pay our gardener a fixed amount to trim the lawn, prune and tame

the little place (A Small Place)

we occupy. I remember

when I was little, my grandma paid me a pound to do

something or other long and laborious in her slightly smaller garden place, planting bulbs, digging up bulbs? She said I had green fingers anyway.

I was sick of being told

‘small pleasures’

- like jamming your hand into the bare earth and crumpling it in and out of place. The death count is god knows what now but I still see older people crimping the soil and bringing various petals to bear out of it on the neighbourhood and passing joggers. They

poke out of their front gardens from carefully maintained borders

- so determined to live, drooping over said miniature fences in a kind of protest.

The heat waned and hissed from the tower block,

the concrete visibly stretched in an attempt to accommodate

it. Chained up bikes were dulled by the sun, like old paintings.

And for less than a second I considered the lives behind the

laundry lines, the clothes horses on balconies before I took

my handbag from my shoulder and placed it carefully on

my backside with the same level of care with which the

washing was pegged.

Our garden succumbed to the weight of the sun, flashing back and forth between the fences to create an oppressive box. The lawn, short and wilted, collapsed into a dead yellow under the stress of the heat. Next door’s tree leaned into the little place, testing the border between ours and theirs. I looked forward to the garden room (under construction) in the far corner of the garden. Upon its completion, that was when I would read the Rushdie I’d been carting under my arm indefinitely. Fireworks- are his, one tutor had said, in comparison to the domesticity of my other favourites that rippled with fury

almost imperceptibly.

book reviews

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Zoë HalseWritten by Zoë Halse

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.