Poets logo

Anonymous Espials

Will you let me lie in peace

By Rigopoula Tsambounieris Talarantas Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Anonymous Espials
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

3 am struck, it tolled, muffled as though it was breaking through the lining of the drenched tatters on the textile of the night.

The stars, came ever closer, detached from their glow-- they dolefully rival the glaze-- the metope of an aphotic faience.

They those, unnamed sprites of the sky-- transient, they quickly crossed the pain of inexistent time, and a Terpsichorean angel, shadow dances on the laconic lines on the cornices of my eyes.

3:01, just a second to steal a taken thought, listening as they rustle, likened to the flutter of the last leaves on the untouched winter white of my bed.

3:02, and the double side of your pillow is streaked with a flash of silver-- moonlit memories that drown on the amber, mephitic vapors of fossilized notions.

5:00 am, and my thoughts wrestle in the throes of a Jacobean dream, ascending and descending-- the cold meridian of my lips. If I cursed you to damnation; if I curse you with my lower and bless you with my upper, will you let me lie in peace?

6:55, and the sun races across my composure, tossing aside the turning of my pillow, the night is gone and those who owned it but for a while have all but disappeared.

I turn on my side, freed from the frown that dusts the ballads on my rumpled nightdress. I lament for what lingers on the mist of anonymous espials...the loss of the night I kept awake-- sleepless.

The curse lingers on the fringes of a litanious anthology, and the day splintered repents for the origin of my sin.

A lullaby soothes the bending night-- to rest.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Rigopoula Tsambounieris Talarantas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.