Poets logo

Angry

Held close

By Katie Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Angry
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

It takes energy to stay angry. Energy I can’t spare.

Stress hormones running rampant, blood pressure climbing, most likely shortening my life.

All that is harmful for me because of anger.

Yet I cannot let it go. I’ve been letting it simmer just below the surface now for quite some time.

It’s that friend that you can only handle in small doses, the sibling that just annoys you to no end, but they’re still your brother.

Why?

I feel I must.

Yes, I could embrace the more “Zen like” attitudes that would give me peace. Turning down the volume on this insane world.

Yet, I cannot.

Too many have.

Yes I would love to spread love and friendship to all, it is needed after all. I am witness to many that live their life thus so.

Yet I cannot.

It took only about 3% of the population to fight the revolutionary war, 3 percent. While the rest merely watched. How easily most, let others take the hard stance.

Do the hard work.

If only all would live a just life of ethics. Only then could I let go my anger.

If I am not to stand against the evil and corrupt, then who?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.