Poets logo

Angry

The mean in me

By Natalie FelixPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

I'm angry all the time

Even when my smile is real it simmers just below the surface

There is a rage I never address

It burns in the pit of my stomach like hot coal

I take it out on you

I take it out on me

I take it out on us

You don't deserve to live this way

I don't want to live this way

It takes a toll on our love

On our friendship

On our life together

The fire from this anger started small

It burned my hand

It scorched our hearts

And then became a raging forest fire

As it dies out and I survey the wreckage

And catalog the loss

I realize how I wrecked us

And wonder what will grow here next

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Felix

I am an old soul with many stories in my head...from many lifetimes. Some are true. Some less so.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.