Poets logo

Anger, The Incongruent Stranger

A Limerick Made From Times Of Anger

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Anger, The Incongruent Stranger
Photo by Rene Böhmer on Unsplash

Far too long has the anger

Coursed through my veins, making me a danger

To those around me, myself included

Yet, even as popular as I am, I’m still excluded

No matter, because these people I live with grow ever stranger

By Bianca Petrisor on Unsplash

Now I never claimed that I reached perfection

Even though people always offer up rejection

And fail to know their own sins

When they try to keep me down, I just remember that my story begins

So even though I have my own failures, I’m constantly adding success to the collection

Sometimes I look in the mirror and ask myself, “How will I get through this?”

The truth is by lowering my pride and increasing my standards I abolish the hubris

Knowing that the demons within me will never cease

And stop till they please their own fantasy, plaguing me like a disease

They want me deceased. As a matter of fact, the truth is

That many people will continue to drag others down with them

Back to the bottom of the barrel, making the others have a conniption

Back to step one and they grow less fond

Of the people holding them back from going beyond

I try to tell them the truth, but they won’t listen

They’re not just honest opinions but cold-hearted facts

Is like they lost the ability to contract

The muscles in their eyes and see for themselves

It’s like having a library, with books glued to the shelves

True sight and vision, is something they lack

However, I can’t stress over how they act

Because if I do my stress will lead to a heart attack

Or in other terms cardiac arrest

I’m guessing God put angels down here on Earth to put them to the test

To see whose influence will never lack

By Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

To beat the rest and annihilate the demons proving I’m the best

It’s their power to influence, if you haven’t guessed

I still need to conquer

And not become a braindead zombie, obeying commands or instinct like a walker

So, my sins and own faults I will always confess

By Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Because recognizing the lies that you tell yourself is half the battle

Most people today are sheep grazing on fields along with the cattle

Yet, as a wolf, trying to get my fill I must work harder

If I become a workaholic, it doesn’t matter, it's time to slaughter

All of my goals along with everybody’s disillusions into dust after the battle

By Philipp Pilz on Unsplash

So now maybe people shouldn’t understand that they shouldn’t just prattle along

While being hedonistic and taking advantage of good people, like hitting a bong

And getting high off of another's success

In the end, that’s not true gratitude, so don’t digress

Most have been tuned out of their own story, epic, or song, their ears aren't listening, it’s been far too long.

By Arto Marttinen on Unsplash

In truth so many people fantasize

About being famous and then immortalized

Unwilling to walk through the darkness to be shown the light, which has me Disturbed

Always pricking my nerves, it would seem that I'm forever perturbed

Yet, I'm not a king cobra, but they’re still the lesser spitting lies

By Godwin Angeline Benjo on Unsplash

No matter the predicament I’ll always weather

The hurricanes their wings whip up, these birds of the same feather

So, with the influence that I harbor, I won’t cower

Showing them who I am the true strength of my power, empowered, and then I’ll devour

Their falsehoods that keep others in bondage. Yet, they don't realize that they're enslaved together.

By Pelly Benassi on Unsplash

Let’s not forget to mention

The tension

From them running their mouths being over pretentious

While they try to impersonate a false narrative and being way too pretentious

It seems like they got shin

Splints on their teeth, they wore down the enamel

Like an exhausted horse crossing the desert, when in fact you need a camel

It’s like the sands of time always change

Their web of lies, always rearrange.

Yet, the situation has been declared too delicate to handle, so it gets chopped up away with the rest of history, stowed away as a forgotten annal.

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

With a tough grip of life and reality

Like showing up on time with some punctuality

When they curse all the time using that profanity

If those words were sugar, cavities would wreak havoc causing calamity, wrecking humanity

Yet, complicating their own lives, as I have continue to do so myself, forcing myself through such an excruciating brutality

For woe to thee for such a shame

Learning that my anger is mine to control, so I shouldn't search to blame

Yet, I understand that emotions are like chemicals, some are highly reactive

When it comes to the decisions that alter my life, the course I want is to take one that's proactive

As I look through the pieces of who I once was and who I currently am, I continue to rebuild, reconstruct, and reframe.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.