Poets logo

angeles

(2019)

By Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1
(photo credit: Laurie Williams)

And still, I felt that crisp breeze of early spring’s breath

That dark night, last I saw your face

That last kiss before you drove home

For few hours felt like few countries away

I missed you, I did

I missed you

Flowing waves of golden silk, as your head

Lay softly on my chest

Hearing your breath, feeling your heart

The ambiance of perfect seconds had

Looped in my head like a broken record

Yet, it was a song that lulled me

And after that night, we lasted no more

I spat my blasphemies at you

Without second thought or reason

You left me soon after

Without needing second thought or reason

Tried as I did for your return

Seasons and months passed

But not the thought of you

Felt the phantom of your touch

Haunting my thoughts never-ending

What was it about you

That made me ache and yearn?

Never knew I could feel this way

For someone who never stayed

You found better, I’m still looking

Harsh as it was, it was truth

Maybe it was because you loved me

That made me want more

Than I ever would have

That feeling I never grasped

Before it fell from my hands

Now I have to go on

Just like you already have

Hoping chance can bring someone

Like you, again

And still, wondering what could’ve been

More time in my arms with you

I hope you’re doing well, now

I hope whoever comes next

Holds on tighter than I ever did.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.