Poets logo

Angel of Light

As I take each day becoming a stronger and better person, I believe this is as good a chance as any to pay homage to the fiery spirit of a young girl who walked through Hell to come out on the other side.

By Lizzy RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Though I could think of dozens worthier,

none bring tears to mine eyes such as you.

I was there through it all,

and though you may not still see

the spark in your eyes once thought lost.

There lies a raging inferno,

fueled by spite and an unwillingness

to let the fires of the world take you alive.

For, my child, you have been through Hell,

and so the flames cannot dare touch your skin.

Instead, they embrace you,

licking across your fingers like an excited puppy.

kissing the scars of family you abandoned,

gluing back the pieces of the heart he shattered,

and chasing the monsters of your mind

back to their shadowy dwellings.

Its friend, the wind, carrying away

the ashes of the past it burned to dust.

You once feared its searing agony,

but now you welcome it as a light in the dark.

You have become its Goddess,

though you were once its prey.

It bends to your will,

filling your spirit with the strength to go on.

You have seen demons even demons see in their nightmares,

and you march on as a burning torch,

leading the way for those behind you and telling them

"there is a light at the end of this tunnel"

you are magnificent.

"You are magnificent," I whisper, as steam rises from your cheeks,

a deathly mix of heat and moisture as I wipe them away.

Shock fills your eyes as the fire greets me

as an old friend.

I take its flickering embers in my palm and kiss it,

ever so gently.

"Thank you for looking out for her,

I wouldn't be here without you."

Our hands grace the glass's surface,

a smile ghosting your lips.

"I made it".

Yes, my angel of Light,

we made it.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.