Poets logo

Angel Anger

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
5
Angel Anger
Photo by Neenu Vimalkumar on Unsplash

you hid under the veil of sacristy

A false room of self-righteous prayer that cast out the small demons that fancied to destroy me piece by little piece

By pieces, like a psychopathic person ripping off a live insect’s arthropod parts one by one; a half-assed liquidation

That left my head halfway cut off

Still expected to behave and talk without throwing up blood. I was the Jezebel

As you cheated worse than the Whore of Babylon

Complaining you didn't get to mess around but still relentlessly taunted me that I was not enough

Throwing me down, ripping out my hair in chunks

Yet you refused to give birth to a new nation that could create rather than toxically defend themselves

Only attack, as a cuckoo bird slips into the nest like a serpent

Eating the home, gutted out

Guts strewn about, in its stomach

Wormy, slimy, bloodless

Your Angel anger was demon repentance

A half-assed case, wherein the lock broke off the key was poorly made

Never to be opened

Unless smashed into my skull

Dreams that shattered the game of

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    Lovely one from you.

  • Manisha Dhalani17 days ago

    Woah! I felt this. "As you cheated worse than the Whore of Babylon" - actually made me "woah" out loud.

  • Gosh this was so freaking intense! I devoured your poem!

  • Dana Crandell18 days ago

    I'm sensing some bitterness. 😉 Well writ, Melissa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.