Poets logo

Angel

I found an angel in the midst of hell

By Sarah RhodenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I walked through the world innocent, naïve

Too small to know evil and too new to see

Until I entered hell by chance

No fault, no blame, but mere circumstance

Then devils held my eyes agape

To show me the horrid and depraved

And I found I could no longer hide

From pain or anger, guilt or pride

Instead I was left to bathe in that torment

And let my body soak until dormant

My spirit urges me to fight

And run from my gratuitous plight

I kick and scream, I beg and run

But devils care not for the innocent ones

My soul is seared by claws and fire

Still I find respite amongst the pyre

For I found an angel in the midst of hell

Pure and pretty and hiding well

And if I could I’d catch her eye

Hold her close and out we’d fly

But I know I’d just give her away

To the ghouls and sinners she keeps at bay

If only I could be like she

And evade the grasps of the sharp banshee

Instead I bleed onto hot brimstone

And scream for no one’s ears but my own

I long to feel the angel’s wings

But I am not a saint nor king

I duck my head and take the pain

If she stays safe it’s not in vain

I’ll drown in fire till my last death knell

For I found an angel in the midst of hell

artsurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Sarah Rhoden

Writing about anything and everything (from the perspective of a mentally ill, probably autistic, nonbinary, pansexual nerd)

25 she/they

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.