Poets logo

And With His Last Words, He Learned His Lesson.

Musings Bordering on Poetry

By Conor MigganPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

This is an exercise

So I don’t hurt you, me or her

Bleed the poison on the page and stand a chance

That this won’t all be in vain

“I used to write for a living, now I write just to stay alive”

The One To Watch

It used to be easy to see the light from the dark

At least in the dark they cheer for you

We’re a generation raised by Tyler Durden.

One step from immortality, one from the grave

The Indians called it firewater, the blood of Icarus

It’ll get you known as the one to watch, and the one to take down

Turn back or abandon hope

You’re not as young as you used to be

Find a place to rest your weary bones

Hang up your spurs and grow old.

And The Shadow Followed

None so proud of a drunken stupor

It gave me my voice

Even if it tried to kill me

I found the art in falling, knowing I could always get up But a shadow followed, said "You will hear me"

I’ve taken greater men then you

The shadow struck, left her mark.

Now she looms again.

May As Well Be Me

Burn me at the rapture

For standing in the light

It’s gonna be somebody

May as well be me

Hang me for my treason

Turns out I was alone

Had to be somebody

May as well be me

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Conor Miggan

31, Irish, living in London. I teach children for a living, on a good day they teach me too. I have a son, he's the greatest motivation I've ever had.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.