Poets logo

And still, when I close my eyes, I can feel your fingers on my cheeks

The rope is breaking

By TestPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
And still, when I close my eyes, I can feel your fingers on my cheeks
Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

Is my head a cryptic mine

Or do I lack a canary’s mind

That I couldn’t see the darkness you elute, exalt, you chant and you hide?

But I saw it clean

When our conversations ceased,

The only side of the field was the one-sided bullet of the words that I screamed.

.

________, I’m weary of carrying my Disney dreams

Across a vast, open prairie.

Could you not candy-coat it, to the least?

Darling, the aching is futile for me,

The branch is breaking,

Not one olive left on the tree.

.

The time was a year ago,

The time is now,

The time had been before,

But the timing is the how.

We take it from the left to the right, from the mercy to the spite, baby.

We tug it from the top to the bottom, the rope is breaking -- save me.

.

I’ve had a bad case,

Since the had-you-kind-of days,

The kind of malady that pesters the peace and takes up space, I

Drugged my own heart,

So that right from the start,

Nothing could tarnish me away, not your dwindling loyalty kind of grand art, _______

.

You showed up on the funniest of roads,

You made the killing real slow,

But I still want you to know

_________, if hope could galvanize me

After you mend the seams,

I’d still be miserable with the reigns, crying are there still good men for me?

.

The time was a year ago,

The time is now,

The time had been before,

But the timing is the how.

We take it from the left to the right, from the mercy to the spite, baby.

We tug it from the top to the bottom, the rope is breaking -- save me.

.

How does it break me when you still have babes to kiss, and you’ve got places to fall?

Have you stayed the same as you’re blowing off the race and playing your thing? Honey, we all want it all.

.

We take it from the left to the right, from the mercy to the spite, baby.

We tug it from the top to the bottom, the rope is breaking -- break me.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.