Poets logo

And I Will See That It Is True

A Poem By Kelsey Syble

By Kelsey SyblePublished 10 months ago ā€¢ Updated 9 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Short and Sweet Challenge
14
Image Source: cottonbro studio/Pexels

"You will not know true love till you love you," a man says as I wait for my ride.

I do not say a word for I know this is the last time.

When the taxi goes away, the pink sky is kind.

I lean my head back as far as I can to take it all in.

Who ever knew that love over self was a sin?

But I ask this too much.

I hold my dog as if she can heal me.

I hold her paw and cry into the void.

So we move away to be free.

Ally upon ally file into my life.

I tell them of my pain.

Some of them care,

some of them stay.

I go out when it is dark

to sway to a love song I do not get.

I make nice with a few city men.

But they do not help.

I fear that a part of me has died,

but I hope that time will heal it.

I hope that one day I will find

that I am not in dire need or want

to be held.

It will take time, but I will be okay.

I will be bold and free.

And then you will show up.

You will care for my soul

more than my body.

And I will get that love song.

And I will see that it is true:

I love me. Now I can love you.

love poems
14

About the Creator

Kelsey Syble

A Southern-born-and-raised writer now navigating life in NYC.

šŸ“ø šŸŽ„ @kelseysyble

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Haunting path, one cold step at a time. Beautifully written. Congratulations on placing in the challenge!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    The story of your poem hooked me in šŸ˜

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow. This is so compelling, so utterly beautiful. You mastered the challenge, imho. ā€œI will be bold and free. And then you will show up. You will care for my soul more than my body. And I will get that love song. And I will see that it is true: I love me. Now I can love you.ā€ The italics make it. The rhythm of it is stuck in my head. Well done, you! Congratulations!! This is my favorite of the winners. ā¤ļøā¤ļøā¤ļø

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is an absolutely stunning poem. Congrats on runner-up

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Beautifully written. Congratulations!

  • Marilyn Glover9 months ago

    Beautiful work, Kelsey, congratulations! šŸŒ¹

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Well done!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.