Poets logo

And I Remember

A Lovers' Poem

By D. ALEXANDRA PORTERPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
5
Image AI Generated

Beneath the bright full moon

And dark canopies of trees above on the cliff

I see silhouettes of lovers

Two as one

Clinging to each other

And I remember

Dare I climb the spiraling trail and sneak closer

Risking an end to my voyeur’s pleasure

Though you and I learned the art

Of silent footsteps

Before you were whisked away

The new lovers, dangerously close to the cliff’s edge, might hear me

Thunder

I smell rain coming

And ache to touch you

You loved the rain

Once more

I crave kisses on bare skin

I remember

You whispered you would always be

Mine

As you entwined your soul in

Mine

But you were whisked away too soon

I remember

No one else feels like you

Tastes like you

Laughs like you

Cries like you

Makes love like you

Beneath the bright full moon

And dark canopies of trees above on the cliff

I see silhouettes of lovers

Two as one

Clinging to each other

And I remember

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

D. ALEXANDRA PORTER

Force of Nature

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sadie Cole10 months ago

    This is beautiful!

  • Beautiful and pure. So eloquently written!!!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Wow! Better to have loved and lost...and all that. Yet, it is better not to lose that love at all. Pain and longing abounds in your words. Most can empathise and say, we know too well that feeling, we send hugs and love forever.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.