Poets logo

And.........

The Poet Begins

By Cathy DeslippePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
And.........
Photo by Jacqueline Munguía on Unsplash

We know the tales,

of those who have failed.

So let's begin,

with a big win.

A poet's life is filled with hopes and fame.

Yet poetry is not the same.

Of nonfiction, fiction or a book report.

It's riddles and rhymes of a sort.

I had a friend who loved to sing.

Her words flew out like a bell with a ring.

It was at that moment I started to write.

A beautiful moment, captured just right,

Tales of good days, some yet to come.

Dreams and passions were of some.

Yet tales of birds of prey.

Children's tales were often written every day,

The daily poems I write, are a quote of the day.

"So share with me, the words you wish to say."

By Millo Lin on Unsplash

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    "Her words flew out like a bell with a ring." I really loved that line. Such a beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.