Poets logo

Anatomy of a Bruneian sentence

If sinking ships had a convo

By Huwaida IshaaqPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Anatomy of a Bruneian sentence
Photo by Hung Li on Unsplash

“Kids baru balik dari swimming,” announces my sister in our family Whatsapp group chat, “we inda join jemaah.”

She is talking about our nightly congregation at maghrib, the one obligatory prayer for which my father would avail himself at home, to worship with the rest of the family. He prefers to offer the other four mandatory prayers at the village mosque. It is a ritual that takes a great chunk of the day. The nationwide circuit-breaker during the 2020 Covid-19 lockdown must have been hard on him. Years of post-retirement routine upended. Thankfully, it did not last long, at least not in Brunei.

My sister adds, “We singgah arah night market, tapau ayam salai for dinner. Anyone berkirim?”

Me, I silently reply. Sometimes, I text that back at them, which often results in a promise to belanja me when I come back home. Otherwise, one world reply in emojis. The 🙄. The 😝. The 😂. I quite like the roll in 🤣, but I do not get that often.

I put down the phone and turn to my non-Bruneian friend, ask her ‘Can you pass me the salt, please?’ and smile at the reverberation in my head.

“Eh, pass ku the garam ah.”

-

This piece was originally published in Poetry & Miscellany.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Huwaida Ishaaq

Stuffed my dreams in a closet but they didn't like it. So, I walked in there and made a pact: I'd take them out for a walk - one dream, one year at a time. The choice led me to long-term traveling and becoming a dream coach. Enjoy :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Nice to see you on Vocal, Huwaida. Or, "eh, si Hu!" haha.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.