Poets logo

An Unfamiliar Mind

A Child

By MegPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
An Unfamiliar Mind
Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

I woke up in a stranger’s home,

My body decorated,

In a stranger’s clothes.

My favorite emerald blanket

Embraced a stranger’s bed.

I was trapped in the walls,

Of a stranger’s design.

The home was mine.

My clothes littered the floor,

My paintings infested the walls.

The body was mine.

A flesh made vessel,

With small hands and floppy breasts.

But the mind was not.

My mind was not ready to share

a home or a head.

My mind was not strong enough.

I felt my heart thunder,

Instinct told me to leave.

The perversion of my home

Overwhelmed rational thought.

I darted towards the door

As my feet passed the barrier,

Hope turned to horror.

There was no ground to walk on,

To reach sanity I had to swim.

I paddled forward, fearful.

Ahead a murky mirage.

Two figures waved me further,

My lover, holding the hand of a child.

Desperately I lurched forward,

And clung to them both.

Together we might be okay.

Together we could find a way

To deal with the horror.

Together we could be,

The three musketeers.

We ventured slowly farther,

But the water got deeper.

A mind flooding with memories.

The waves climbed higher

The water restless and angry.

My lover and I struggled to breath

We fought to stay afloat.

How could we bring a child here?

I gripped my daughter’s hand tightly,

But her fingers slipped through mine.

Hues of blue swallowed her.

I tried to bring her back up

But it was too late.

Together we would not be.

I was left alone with my lover,

Escaping an unfamiliar mind.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Meg

I'm here to explore the depth of human experience and to stop procrastinating my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kimabout a year ago

    So powerful 🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.