Poets logo

An Unexpected Visit

On dreaming.

By KBPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
via @Hero1nChic on Pinterest

Riddled between the horrors of yesterday

and the trepidation of tomorrow,

my mind wanders to the places

and the memories of my sorrows.

***

My first stop is with my father

who sits tall atop a mountain,

cheeks stained red with fright

I saw it once before, at the cabin.

***

Soon enough, my mother appears

joining us at the white peaks,

she turns toward me with salty eyes

I can almost hear the shrieks.

***

When the storm clouds move above

and the curtain is drawn back,

I see my younger self,

the girl who kept on track.

***

Racing toward the taught blue ribbon

nearly crossing the finish line,

my legs turn to jello

my arms become intertwined.

***

I’m a goopy puddle sitting in the mud

until I drip down through the soil,

Through the earth to the other side,

Splashing like slick oil.

***

My shape is then reformed

into an elderly woman,

who sits atop the peaks

in a rocking chair that is wooden.

***

She moves back and forth

next to shadowy silhouettes,

eyes looking wide

not worried about her debts.

***

The calmness of the beauty

surely opens my eyes,

my breath is still panting,

but my brain is alive.

***

I look across my bedroom

and what do I see?

The picture of the mountain

drawn by my father, for me.

***

The rocking chair by my bed

that my mother used to sit in,

to tell me bedtime stories

while mine was ready to begin.

***

Nothing is as it seems

when I am asleep,

but still, there is some reality

when I doze too deep.

***

I reach to my phone

to call my mother and father,

but no one picks up

it seems I am a bother.

***

Now my cheeks are stained red

with salt in my eyes,

I should learn to stop taking naps,

I don’t need to be energized.

***

If only I could stop dreaming

to keep my mind at ease,

because the reminders of the past and

hopes of the future became a disease.

surreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.