Poets logo

An Opened Book

off the shelf

By Jada FergusonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I want that feeling back-

I want to be enlightened again-

-

This love we used to have –

Was available to me daily-

But I put you to the side-

And I replaced one good feeling with another-

-

This other speaks into my left ear-

And the right ear gets neglected for a while-

-

Now I’m not able to function-

Because my previous love was the only one-

Who could satisfy, purify, and push-

My right ear into-

Worlds revolving in fantasy-

Or hearts throbbing in reality-

-

And I need my love’s hand-

Touching my right ear-

Because there is nothing else that will-

Wrap and warm me in the intricate mind of another-

For the power of the words-

On my love’s paper-

Catapults my own ideas onto any blank paper I can find-

-

So, I’m going to lend aid-

To my right ear-

And take my love off the shelf-

It’s dying on-

And thrive in the words of-

My spined lover-

All night long

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!!😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.