Poets logo

An Ode to the Sun & the Moon

Praises for the Magnificent Idols

By Kylie MartinPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
1
Smoky Reno Sunset at the Hospital - 2020

When you run out of pain to write about, you write about how much you love life

Subtleties seeping through the cracks that once tore me apart

I used to reach out for small pieces of promise from overhead

The cloak of the touch sustaining for only a whisp in time

Now the holes from past aches in my existence filled with rays of light

The day no longer one to be feared, but conquered with the power of joy

More remnants of hope added to the stack in my palm

Nature praising the day before I open my eyes, patiently waiting to greet me

The mountains in the East gently uncover him, though the clouds of daybreak shield him further still

Parking in the same spot every morning enhanced by the view of him

Catching my attention at dusk and dawn, a roll of film bursting with thousands of stills of the beams

Completing a daily checklist disrupted by the need to greet him

My soul wrapped in a blanket of ecstasy nothing will surpass

Laughter and zeal, the soundtrack of life now secured fully in my hands

Everyday halted by an interactive scape up above

The Sierras prepare to enclose him for a while, generous in sharing the routine

He haughtily shouts in his decent while he turns the stage over to her

Veering off the path home to follow him to bed

Another hundred on the euro car won't hurt if it means I can say goodnight

Stacking piles of laundry and tending to the 'meows', there she is

As the white chariot glides across the sky, she rises, boasting her purpose

Kissing the land with her glory, filling the final spaces of the day

A burst of glowing splendor through the panes on every floor, she is conceited with full empowerment to do so

A privilege to witness her changes through the month as she guides the paths of the universe

Keeping up with jobs, myself, and loved ones while she returns without hesitation

Whether I see her or not, she carries on her course

A gift in itself to witness and cherish forever while receiving the circle of newness she brings

Alas, the golden chariot trots over to where he will provoke the day

Peace reaches my soul as I too, get to begin again

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kylie Martin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.