Poets logo

An Ode To My World.

Making Peace.

By Carol TownendPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
An Ode To My World.
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

We all share one planet,

So why do we all destroy it?

And the government who say

They care,

Give me quite a scare.

Humans destroying other humans,

They destroy our planet, too;

So much pain and human-

suffering, even in the eyes

of the young.

Can we not learn to live in

peace?

Is it not the right thing to do?

It seems the world is unequal,

In a world that is supposed to be

tranquil.

I'm afraid we can't change the world,

But we can change our hearts;

Creating peace in others,

Even if they are not our brothers;

So, even if just for today,

Let us make peace and be ok,

Look inside your hearts,

It's not too much to ask.

sad poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryOdeinspirationalGratitudeFriendship
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller2 months ago

    As an environmental biologist, this touches my heart. Thank you for writing this.

  • I hoping somehow we can bring peace to this world. Loved your poem!

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Dear Carol ~ Your little sabatical gave you such creative vigor ~ We can change the world with 'Heart' ~ - Can't we all just get along - 'j' bud in l.a.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.