Poets logo

an ode to her

my college bed, frame and all

By kazmyn Published 9 months ago 1 min read
2

when i moved away from home,

my dad bought me a bed.

his then-girlfriend now fiancé’s sister’s sin -bedspread.

& at first i didn’t like her,

she would squeak and she was short,

but then we gave her heels (stilts) and she became my best support.

she was a full-fit for a queen

sometimes she’d wobble, never lean

she held me when my boyfriend left

she tucked me in the nights i wept…

i helped her shift, fixed the feng shui

and when i moved out she came with me.

we set her up to take her down to set her up and spin her round’ —

so that the sun would hit her just right

and wouldn’t wake me with a fight

& i made sure i did her up each morning

picture-perfect pillow adorning,

three houses down and more to go,

but i sold her to an old fellow

at 10am this morning.

and as he drove her away

i realized that the fifty-bucks

was cheap for what she gave.

love poems
2

About the Creator

kazmyn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh this hit me

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.