Poets logo

An Ode to An Era

Reposed Recollections

By Ashley Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
An Ode to An Era
Photo by J. Brouwer on Unsplash

Dear David,

A broken little heart that was mended

You taught me all I know -

My life, another’s, justice, on three chessboards in a way

Not fair to learn to play the game this way, I still did to my dismay

***

But the comfort of the summer months

A room, my books, a doll I owned once

And a home given not by stork, instead out of love

I came to believe I was given a gift from above

***

These memories I carry forward on this pathway

They taste like Italian soda on a hot summer’s day

My mind’s eye sees a friend, Jack, and a pitcher of water on a table

Memories of your game of chess, and finally something stable

***

I still see a guardian that I loved so dear

And familial laughter which my ears still do hear

Your hug, your love - a phantom souvenir

And to still have my chessboards – a profound blessing to bear

***

All my love to you,

Ashley

inspirationallove poems
Like

About the Creator

Ashley

Hello! I primarily enjoy writing fiction, but occasionally I use my background in chemistry to write skincare and beauty articles.

Subscribe if you wish!

All my best,

Ashley

Instagram @ashley_nestle

booksintheatticblog.com

Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.