Poets logo

An Image lost

Poem

By Samantha DulakPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph by Samantha Dulak

I close my eyes and what do i see. Miraculously, I see either two things. One, Memories from long ago fleeting on the edge of a transparent void. Two; I see in hues of black and red.. of Nothingness.

The lost... The pain

You see when we close our eyes briefly. We invoke a memory from long ago or just remembered. That ties emotions. Not only to ourselves but the ones we share these memories with. It's an endless cycle of love , lust or fleeting pain.

Then we have the other side to that coin. Our eyes close. Hues of red and black appear. Our body's cold . Nothingness, like the sounds we could have heard when we had ears. Like a knife trying to whittle a piece of wood. But can't because it's dull. It form never really finished.

To close our eyes briefly is just as hard as forever. "Why"? As I felt blooded tears fall from my eyes. Knowing that time has stopped for you and just slowed down for me.

That's because my eyes closed briefly while you're closed forever.

I don't want to close my eyes.

My brother, I see you.

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Dulak

I guess you can say I'm an ordinary Joe. My personality is like a River it's strong. I did graduate from high school and I have some college. I have a beautiful son. Im in love with the written word. Come on in and enjoy yourself.





Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.