Poets logo

An Animated Coffee Morning

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
An Animated Coffee Morning
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

A sip of warmth and spice

In a whirl of sweet delight

Coffee takes a twirl

Dancing on my countertop.

Yesterday the day at the campus was a headache, there were back-to-back calls with a sudden influx of patients. I didn't even get a moment to relax and when I returned home, I hugged my mom thanking her for the meal before ending up in bed, dead tired.

Waking up today there was still some degree of lethargy, deciding that I needed an adrenaline boost I stumbled into the kitchen.

Heading straight for the coffee, pouring myself a cup of steaming pistachio coffee I put the cup down to fetch some homemade cookies.

Walking back I noticed something strange - the coffee was dancing. Rubbing my eyes in case it was an illusion of tiredness.

Nope! It was not. The coffee was grooving to its own beat. The cup was tapping like it was trying to find balance with the coffee swirling and twirling.

Maybe I stepped into the crazy world of 'Alice in Wonderland'. It felt like the coffee had gained a life of its own and was determined to start my day off with a bang.

Joining in this crazy party I started busting out some ridiculous dance moves of my own creating a makeshift coffee-themed dance party in my kitchen.

Finally, I settled down to enjoy my cup of coffee. Taking a sip I realized that the lethargy had finally left me and I was feeling fully energised.

Maybe a little morning dance was what I needed. Who knew that my morning routine could be so...animated?

P.S.

I did find out why it was dancing... It was placed on a rounded knob. At least it didn't fall. Now that would have been a mess.

Mental Healthperformance poetryhumorHaikuFor Fun
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Great way to start the day!

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    This was such fun to read!! Well done!

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Wow! There were brilliant words which were new for me. There were hundreds of feelings of various people in this poem. Poignant!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.