Poets logo

An American Problem

Guns

By Laura LannPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
5
An American Problem
Photo by Roman Poberezhnik on Unsplash

I listened to a webinar today,

One that talked about guns

And anger, hot and unsettling

From employees receiving bad news.

Perhaps a disciplinary action or, worse, termination.

It cautioned employers, be careful, be planned.

Check state laws, they said. Could be legal to have guns in the car.

One quick trip to the parking lot and they could be back inside,

Barging through doors, pulling metal back, releasing wounds and worse.

Have a safety plan just in case. Be prepared.

Flee, fight, or freeze. Staff needs to know what to do.

You need to know what to do. Put it in writing. Make sure everyone knows.

Is this what HR does in the rest of the world?

I know my state's laws, don't even have to check.

I've always known them.

And I shudder to think as now everywhere

Threat looms and waits. Death knocks.

Mass shootings in the workplace are on the rise.

57% percent of shootings happened at work.

Child me could not fathom

Work would be spent reviewing safety protocol,

To prevent an active shooter at the office.

She should have known as she practiced,

Drilled and hunkered in a corner with upturned desks

In dark classrooms where her peers suppressed giggles

Because it still seemed unreal back then.

But it's not. Who knows what's in someone's car.

We were cautioned.

social commentaryCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Scary, glad that's not my reality 😫

  • This is just so terrifying! I mean, imagine to always live in a constant state of fear! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Superbly written social commentary poem!!! 💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.