Poets logo

Amuse My Bouche

Barbeque & Love

By Lamar WigginsPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Amuse My Bouche
Photo by Samuel Bryngelsson on Unsplash

Constant cravings of a smoky charred treat,

makes me want to break out the mesquite.

Daydreaming of the perfect scrumptious menu.

The array is set, now time for the venue.

She chose the beach last year,

I chose the park the year before.

We are keeping it safe this year,

and grilling right out the back door.

We always invite a friend or two,

and sometimes mom and dad.

This year its just the two of us,

This makes me very very glad.

Let the salivating begin,

due to a keen sense of smell.

I like my steak medium rare.

She likes hers medium well.

Salad, corn on the cob

and other types of veggies.

Brent won't be there,

So there won't be any wedgies.

Time for an after dinner massage

along with a sexy bottle of wine.

Today was so amazing,

it could be considered a crime.

The fire is out, dishes are clean

my stomach is full.

But there is still time left,

might as well jump into the pool.

One last thought

then it's time for bed.

Never use charcoal,

use propane or mesquite instead.

I wish summertime

was all year long.

I would BBQ every day,

because the grill is where I belong.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Now you're making me hungry! And I haven't even had breakfast yet. Enjoyed the poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.