Poets logo

Amnesia Amnesty

Written by Jack Kirwood

By Jack KirwoodPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Every-time I try and remember the bittersweet times of you and I.

It makes me cry and want to die.

Because I can't remember you're voice.

I can't remember your face.

I can't even remember your name because this dementia has a stranglehold on my brain.

I long for the recollection of memories which are supposed to be immortal and undying. Although I know you're not with me, I still know you're alive.

At least I hope you're alive. There are times when I remember the things you wore when on other people, I remember how you used to have your coffee.

But I can never remember anything of importance. Such as our wedding day, I have the picture but I don't recognize you or myself.

I still think about you every day, and how much I wish I could say... but these words fall short like my memory; this old age is killing me. GOD DAMN DEMENTIA. Why is my love away, and my days feel so long. The nurses are the only ones I talk to. My family may visit but I wouldn't even know their names, or who they are unless they told me and even then it would a brief recollection of memories which I'd quickly forget and have to ask again. They are understanding and caring, but once they leave, they're gone from my knowledge and existence. How I wish I had my memory. How I wish I could talk and not be a broken record. I wish that I had more time with my grandchildren. I wish I still had my ability to recall, for I have a bunch of photos of friends and family and times of travel, but I can't remember the places their names, or their faces... I can't remember anything... I can't remember.

(All friends and family enter the room)

Hi? My name's Timothy, can I help you?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jack Kirwood

Is freedom?

Reality meeting itself on its own terms, seeing through the looking glass, mirroring itself.

Absurdity, realism, wondrously weird and INSANE.

This is what you'll find,

Read bottom up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.