Poets logo

Am I Ready to Be Married?

(A Basic Wedding Poem)

By S. D. KelleyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Am I ready to be wed?

Or, should I leave my love instead?

My heart feels like it’s fluttering

I cannot help how much I’m stuttering

Am I ready to end my days of suffering alone?

Am I ready to call you my home?

If there were only words to help me today,

But, “I do,” is all I can seem to say.

My groom catches his breath, and begins to stumble

So glad am I not to be alone to fumble

He tries again, and lets out a frustrated cry

"I do." And wraps me close with a relieved sigh

I kiss my groom with little interruption, forgetting where we were

I didn't care. I held him close, and began to feel a stir

In my heart, I knew this is how all should be

I can't believe doubt even bothered me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

S. D. Kelley

Hello! My name is S. D. Kelley, but you can probably see that! I graduated with a Bachelor's in Special Education. I also have a love for writing that I hope to show off here! Glad to meet you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.