Poets logo

Am I Not Human To?

White, Black,Man, Woman, Gay, Straight, Catholic, Muslim, Atheist: Whatever you are Are You Not Human To?

By Bryttnie ChaffinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Am I Not Human To?
Photo by Farid Askerov on Unsplash

I have 5 fingers on each hand,

10 toes combined,

2 eyes, 2 arms,

I stand erect with my legs.

My heart pumps my blood,

My skin curves around my bones,

My lungs breathe in the air.

Why am I not considered equal,

Why am I less?

What do they have that I don’t?

How am I any different?

Why am I not equal in the eyes of the law?

Why am I not granted full protection?

How is your god anymore sacred than mine?

How is your love anymore worthy than mine?

How is your skin anymore suitable than mine?

How are your choices anymore valid than mine?

We are equal, are we not?

When hurt, we cry.

When cut, we bleed.

When damaged, we scar.

With a scar, we heal.

No matter the god,

No matter the color of our skin,

No matter the person who we choose to spend our lives with,

No matter the choices we make.

We all want to believe,

We all want to feel the sun upon our skin,

We all want to love and be loved,

We all want to live a life worth living...

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Bryttnie Chaffin

Writing things that are fun and/or have powerful emotion behind it, maybe some educational things. Writing about my personal feelings, those of others (real or fictional), or just fun things that my mind makes up. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.