Poets logo

Always Remember

#VocalNPM

By xandraPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Searching through the files cabinet of my mind for the memories that I need to archive. The people and places I made them with- I’m leaving them behind and I’m going far away. I don’t know if I should let go and move on or hold on and be pried off. Standing there in a pool of tears surrounded by the cracking and crumbling tiles of pain and sorrow. Cloudy tears, intermixed with depression and bittersweet joy. Do I want to leave and begin again though I know remaining would be easy? A skirmish in my mind. I have no voice in the matter. My hands still clenching my beloved amidst the tugging to forget. It is inevitable. Will I return and remember. Should I risk pulling the hangnail off my tender, pulsating thumb? Is it worth it? To them, I would give all. Already have I carved out my beating heart and given it away to my beloved; what else would I lose. Back and forth in my tormented mind, searching through those files for the cause of this misfortune. Was it written in the stars? Is it destiny to be scraped off a car windshield when life crashes O so hard? My hand and feet have been tied together. I can only hope that I’m not forgotten. Distance is only a disadvantage for the weak. I must move on for how can one live with one foot there and the other here. Life is sorrow and bittersweet. New things will come and time will go on but I will always remember; there is no power anywhere that could cause me to forget.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

xandra

it is difficult to become an artist in a world where nothing seems new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.