Poets logo

Always

A poem for leaving

By Kevin RollyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Image by author

Moonlight came up from behind

to take me by surprise

and she said she would always love me, always

I remember then with the dead leaves

and autumn coming

whisper in through the door

Dream slips away again

through the cracks in the window

leaving only fragments

of rage, an old house

and never never will anything ever be the same again

Her hands familiar

and the smell of night old wine

in the mattress side glasses

whispered promises still in the air

like rotting ghosts and I've never loved you

though I prayed till I bled that I would

while you dreamt of coffee colored mornings

the horizon changing with the seasons

hearth fires

and the coming of winter

And it was never your fault she died

that night we couldn't touch

without crying

and with that washed everything away

like the rains that came that spring

leaving us so cold

you remember?

Frost came again this morning...

your skin so beautiful in the dark light

last night

and your scent is something soft

I will never know again

but making love couldn't

and I'm tired of praying

and I'm tired of bleeding

and moonlight came up from behind

and she said she would always love me,

always

Prosesad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Kevin Rolly

Artist working in Los Angeles who creates images from photos, oil paint and gunpowder.

He is writing a novel about the suicide of his brother.

http://www.kevissimo.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/Kevissimo/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Wow, I felt sad reading this - such strong emotions. Well done.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh, this is so damn raw, brilliant job.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I got lost in this. The sentiment, the sadness, the vividness of the scene. "Rotten ghosts" - great image.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.