Poets logo

Alter Ego

Poem

By Paul CrockerPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Behind the glass, reflectively.

I see a man standing there who looks like me.

But something is not right.

Not all of the pieces fit the same.

It's in the middle of the dark night.

And he's begun to play his game.

Is he watching for a reaction?

I can't read him so I just don't know.

Looking for some kind of detachment.

From this alter ego.

He bides his time, staring through.

But something about his eyes does not ring true.

He is too calm yet I know he is waiting.

I am fixated by the look he is projecting.

What kind of trap is he baiting?

Is this an inner demon that I am reflecting?

If I break the glass would his soul die?

Would his power over me cease to flow?

My arms are numb although I try.

I can not rid myself of this alter ego.

He begins smiling but I do not.

I start to notice his skin age and rot.

I try desperately to stand my ground.

But he knows he has me figured out.

The weakness in me has been found.

And he evaporates my every hope like a drought.

Surely he can't do this, it's all in my mind.

He looks like he's about to take me to death row.

There must be a solution for me to find.

To escape this alter ego.

He is now humming while still wearing that grin.

I'm praying for an ounce of adrenaline to kick in.

But it is useless to even think.

The hum is louder and the frame vibrates.

I know my life is on the brink.

I know I'm about to meet my fate.

Hating that he isn't making it quick.

There is no way to disguise how my fear grows.

My throat is filling with venomous sick.

Because if this alter ego.

The glass has begun cracking which he seems to enjoy.

He seems to get a boost the more he destroys.

But my senses are not adding up.

I don't realise what is about to happen.

The thought occurs to me but is he mad enough?

Using my hands to cover my face but he grabs them.

Shredding my skin as the razor edges burst free.

Slicing me up with a convictional blow.

Quickly draining the life force from me.

Baptising the evil of my alter ego.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paul Crocker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.