Poets logo

Alphabet Paint

When synesthesia, the act of writing, and a search for a self fall into a page together.

By Damini KanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have long suspected synesthesia.

That’s when R-E-D becomes red-pink-grey

and S-O-U-L becomes orange-yellow-green-tan.

Under the alphabet is a blinking set of lights

and I chase them with a glass jar

and dirty worn-out eyes.

I dabbed colour on my face when I was six.

And the answers to myself hid in crimson

beneath my nails. Maybe the questions

sit waiting on the business end of an orange peel.

Maybe the puzzle piece darkens like black mould

on my white wallpaper, or

tricolour variations of rainbow flag.

Who gets to decide the paint-by-numbers

combination to my heart? Me?

I’m still working out the difference between

cerise and ruby. Someone told me

magenta isn’t a real colour. Not really,

they said, it doesn’t fit in. And I wonder if it

matches my irises on a bad day.

I know we all want to be mantis shrimp.

They see the world differently, they have

a different paintbox. Their watercolours hang

in the ocean's greatest museums, and they

have more options to choose from. I am pink,

I am red, I am brown, I am yellow, I am the blue of

a dark room on a bright day, I am

dipping my hands in black ink

and writing names on a blank page.

The letters look like me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Damini Kane

This is just a pocket full of words.

I write about books, fitness, beauty, and travel.

Follow me:

Twitter: @DaminiKane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.