Poets logo

Alopecia

By A K WPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Alopecia.

It sounds like a flower.

Something pink

or perhaps purple.

Feminine certainly.

Soft smelling, like lavender.

Like a memory of my grandmother.

But it's not.

It's none of these things.

It's actually awful.

It's unfair

and cruel.

People say it's just hair.

That's fair. Kind-of.

They say it's getting better.

But it's not.

They lie in the nicest way possible.

They've been doing so for years.

I hate it.

If it really were a flower I'd plough it under.

No matter how pretty and pink.

Even if it smelt nice.

I'd furrow the ground with salt.

So nothing could grow there.

Ever.

But that's what *it* does right?

Stop growth.

I don't want to be like that.

Cruel and unfair.

And besides,

it reminds me of my grandmother.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A K W

Interests include falconry, game theory and jealousy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.