Poets logo

Alone With Myself

Poem 4 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2

I have to get out of my head somehow.

I’m sitting down in there looking at old

Pictures and it isn’t helping.

{

There’s really no one to kick it with

And this bottle of beer is almost empty.

I drink so much I barely feel a buzz.

{

My cigarette burns without a voice.

{

The sun shines without prose. It just

Sits up there faceless.

{

The wind sends a cold breath.

{

The books on my shelf say nothing new.

{

Retrowave plays through my computer

As always.

{

I’d like a honey-haired chick to sit on

My dick and cream.

That or my ex to speak to me.

She could return if she’d like to.

{

I need to leave my cerebral space for

More than a few moments.

With this poem, I step out briefly and

Go back inside between the lines.

{

I don’t want to be at the bar.

{

I’d hit up Vee the hostess if I knew

She was willing to spend the time

With me to speak.

{

I’d be in another city or state if

Finances and my obligations to the

Kitchen wasn’t in the way.

{

For now my best bet is to walk down

The hill for a six pack.

I see the only option I have to leave

My mental is to pop the top off a

Brew and get to the next blank page.

}

Filter to Words I Wrote

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    Loving these last lines: My mental is to pop the top off a / Brew and get to the next blank page. You're very good with slam poetry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.