Poets logo

Alone to Zen

An Abecedarian Poem

By Gerald HolmesPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
13
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Alone with my longing

Broken and unaware

Change was so close

Disguised in a stare

**

Everything around me

Faded in your eyes

Glowing like starlight

Heaven in your smile

**

Inspiration overtook me

Just like a muse

Killing my fear

Letting hope loose

**

My soul awakened

No longer asleep

Opened to hold you

Pulsing with need

**

Quivering anticipation

Ringing in my ears

Set me in motion

Took me from my chair

**

Unsure what to say

Verbose is not me

With wine I arrived like

Xi to the sea

**

Your love for twenty years is the

Zen that fills me!!

**

love poems
13

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Meg2 months ago

    This flowed so well! Beautiful poem

  • JBaz3 months ago

    W through to Z. Wow, this was really well done Gerald. Not an easy challenge, but you aced it

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Beautiful work Gerald! ❤ it!

  • Awww, this was sooooo sweet and lovely! Loved your Abecedarian so much!

  • I believe you, Gerald. The pictures & stories you have shared of the two of you--I most definitely believe you.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Lovely poem, Gerald. Heartfelt.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Wow. This is incredible, Bro. Well done.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Awww, this was so beautiful! And I love that you brought the wine :) A wonderful entry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.