Poets logo

Alone

Again...

By Lindsey AltomPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Alone
Photo by Keenan Constance on Unsplash

Alone...again.

Why...this is something I never intend?

I always have to depend on me.

I want to be free...

But it gets so tiresome being the only person that I can depend on.

Does everyone intend to just con?

I want to feel I can trust someone fully.

Instead I get this fury in my belly...

because I know the only person that I can truly depend on is me.

Shame on you, shame on you all for making yourselves first and as always me...last.

Even though I always put you first and would always drop everything to help.

You must have taken a misstep...

To think I would keep putting myself through this.

There must be something amiss.

He tells me I'm worth it and although it kills me to go through this alone...

I'm going to put myself first and love myself because after all I should've known.

sad poetryslam poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've wrote songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.