Poets logo

All the Leaves Are Brown

In Response to Poppy's Colour prompt!

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
12
All the Leaves Are Brown
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

All

the

Brown

Leaves

Dead

Leaves

Part of the process

Brown

grass

Dead

grass

Part of the process

Before

the

green

Before

the

yellow

Before the multi-coloured, multi-layered blooms of spring and summer

Comes

the

Brown

Beautiful

Brown

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is another entry/piece for Poppy's color prompt. I chose brown for reasons...well outlined above.

If you have time and inclination, you can also take a look at these other pieces:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

surreal poetryvintagesocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I have always found brown to be a deep, warm colour! Thank you for giving it some appreciation!

  • And the sky is greyyyyyy 😉 Loved this 😇

  • Chocolate is brown. Chocolate is dead. I eat chocolate. I am dead. Lol, just ignore me. Oh wait another one. I am brown. I am dead. Lol, I'm so sorry Sir Paul. I don't know what's gotten into me. But I loved your poem!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This was such a creatively inspiring piece. I loved the repitition of 'part of the process' and how all the short lines build up to 'Before the multi-coloured, multi-layered blooms of spring and summer'. So impactful, well done!

  • Brown--the color of the fertile.

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    A brilliant entry, it's simple elegance almost makes me feel the season again!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    And the circle is whole - nicely done.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi Paul ~ As I mentioned in 'Sugar Daddy' readers pick out what brings them into reads. Remembering: In my 'yute I cruised Sunset Blvd with my top down blasting 'California Dreaming/Mama's and Papa's ~ "All the Leaves are BROWN" Thanks for the memories J-bud in L.A.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Love the emphasis on the process. Awesome entry! (Yes, I was singing, too.)

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    I love the underlying meaning I’m drawing from this piece. Beautiful, Pal! Great entry!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    And the sky is gray, I've been for a walk on this winter's day... Great poem. Had me singing Mamas and the Papas

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Poor brown leaves but so pretty still.

  • Luther8 months ago

    Nice work I loved it ❤️🤗 I hope my stories get to the top one day 😪💔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.