Poets logo

All that's Left.

A Poem of Forgetting.

By Judy Walker Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
All that's Left.
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

I sit, pencil poised, waiting for the

muse to perch on my shoulder.

I want to write about something important,

like forgetting and remembering,

but all that comes is the

silence of one a.m.

I wish I remembered being born,

floating in the amniotic fluid,

seeing only dark. Instead,

I remember the way you

smiled at me and that,

I’d rather forget.

You didn’t say why

you stopped loving me and

I didn’t ask. Now you stare at me

from a photograph, your

chin on my shoulder,

peering at the camera and

all that’s left of us are

words trapped inside this poem.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Judy Walker

Love & Life are my true inspirations.

If you like my writing, please share, or if so inspired, tip (no obligation).

Your support is appreciated 🙏.

You can find me on FB here.

Instagram here.

Elephant Journal here.

My blog here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.