Poets logo

All Sass, No Class!

Waka poetry

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4
All Sass, No Class!
Photo by Lacie Slezak on Unsplash

The waka is a Japanese 5-line poem (or stanza) that is often considered synonymous with the tanka, because both have a 5-7-5-7-7 syllable per line structure. However, the waka groups its lines together in a particular way. The first 2 lines should make up one piece, the next 2 lines should make the next, and then, the final line can stand on its own--or as part of the second group.

It's possible to end stop after line 2, 4, and 5. But other forms of punctuation can do the trick as well. Writers Digest, Robert Lee Brewer

*****

Here’s my attempt at a waka:

Class or Sass?

He said, oh my God,

a Chevy, pulling two Fords!

My phone, that noise is

a pimple on someone's ass!

See, he has all sass, no class!

humor
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Hahahahahahahahah this was hilarious! Also, I've only heard of Tanka before, not Waka. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙💚

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.