Poets logo

Alight Upon Mended Wings

A Poem of Emotional Healing

By Joshua C. MillerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Alight Upon Mended Wings
Photo by Tīna Sāra on Unsplash

When I talk with you, I feel like a butterfly flitting in the wind, with my best friend; touching every moment, like the tasting of every flower, gently swept by the breeze of time, with you only inches away from my heart, and mine.

Though the winds may blow and push us away from each other here and there; I know the tempest will soon be past and we'll be back with each other again, seeing eye to eye, sipping from the same flower, smiling to no end.

The thoughts of your mind, innumerable like the flowers of this field, are the heartstrings you pull on in every moment that I'm with you. Try though I might to alight upon each one, deep down inside I know it never can be done.

Like the best of friends together, when we sit and sip each flower side by side; my heart beats fast, strong, quiet, when I look deep into the hidden vastness of your eyes.

I know there are more flowers to see then time shall ever allot; and although a gentle breeze is blowing, pushing us faster over this field than we should like; we still get deeply lost in the colors, the smells and all the sights.

I'm here because I was blown away by a violent storm, far away from my home field; and as I tumbled through the air relentlessly battered in the harsh wind; I thought I would be so completely broken, that I could never love again.

I sat for a long time mourning that which I once had was now forever and always lost; I tried to mend my broken wings and rationalize the cost; I wondered all along if I'd ever fly again; flit flower to flower with a lover or a friend.

Never did I think that I could ever mend enough, to open my heart wide and take a leap of trust. That branch I sat upon for so long a time just mending, was a place of solace I know I'll need to continually keep on tending.

Mending as I sat looking down upon this field, I envied and yet did not those couples whose love was sealed. For knew I this; a storm could blow them away in any moment, and soon they too upon a branch alone might sit - as if I were an omen.

I knew I couldn't sit forever and wallow in my pain, for others I knew would think I was enthralled only with my vain, I decided to give myself over completely to the wind; to strengthen my wings, and if nothing more than just to feel again.

I'm glad I took the leap off that branch and down into this field, letting the breeze alight me upon mended wings lifting up the heart that I'd concealed; I had no destination particularly in mind, so when I bumped into you the timing seemed to be divine.

My wings touched yours, your eyes met mine, I may not have said it then, yet I thought it to myself; Could it be? I wondered; and now as I write a bit of poetry upon a line, I muse upon; What beauty may unfold, if we only give it time.

J.C. Miller

If this article has resonated with you, give a like, leave a comment, share, and subscribe to my articles; so that I may further the reach of the message I was sent here to give to others. Thank-you for your time, your energy, and sharing your light and love with others. I welcome all comments and constructive criticism and any small edits that stood out to you! Love and Light!

If you would like to read more of my articles and stories, please follow me on vocal.com!

inspirationalnature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Joshua C. Miller

Joshua C. Miller is an avid reader & writer, he is an author, speaker, teacher, firefighter, father of six, traveler, & spiritual truth seeker, & writes from his wide and varied experiences in life, work, family, & the outdoors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.