Poets logo

Alienated and Caffeinated

.

By Tony BacaPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Alienated and Caffeinated
Photo by Leo on Unsplash

THIS POEM WAS INTENDED FOR ONE OF THE CHALLENGE CONTEST THAT HAD A THEME ABOUT "WHAT WOULD YOU FIRST INTRODUCE TO AN ALIEN." I ACCIDENTLY SUBMITTED IT TO THE GENERAL POETS FORUM AND NOW HERE IT REMAINS SADLY WITH NO REAL INTENT OTHER THAN A HUMOROUS TAKE ON THAT SUBJECT MATTER.

Dashing through the ozone

On a mission to explore

Check engine light just popped on

This happened once before

.

A ball a flames I must eject

The magnetic force is true

This planet that I’m heading for

Is beautiful and blue

.

My eyes gently opened

I’m surprised to be alive

I must relocate my craft

My mission’s to survive

.

Holy hell, is that your ship

The Earth Man asked astonished

Just leave it there till the flames subside

He instructed and admonished

.

We need to find you shelter

Forget that high-tech stuff

Some normal clothes and shoes

You’ll blend in well enough

.

You ever heard of Starbucks

I asked my new found pal

After your long journey

It’s sure to do you well

.

A few hot sips and suddenly

His Alien eyes expanded

After two espresso shots

He concurred and then demanded

.

This mud-like liquid is quite divine

It’s match we’ve not discovered

Perhaps a new found source of fuel

My aircraft might have hovered

.

This Heavenly concoction

Has quite the serious kick

Go easy my Galactic friend

Too much will make you sick

.

His complexion turned a pale gray

As he relished this new mixture

I warned him once again

But he consumed it by the pitcher

.

What’s the key ingredient

He asked with a nervous stutter

That would be “Caffeine” my friend

It kicks you in the rudder

.

The flames had finally simmered

As he rushed back to his Craft

Adios, my new found friend

I waved and smiled and laughed

surreal poetryhumorfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Tony Baca

Just gathering inspiration along the way in this thing we call "Life." I prefer to write about the trials and tribulations of societal issues, but will immerse myself in a few other genres as well. Please drop by and say Hello! Cheers..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Very nice! I loved the reaction the alien had after taking a sip.

  • Lynda Spargur7 months ago

    Love this! How cute to read the alien's POV as well as the human.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.