Poets logo

Alexander the Diamond?

A "gem" for your thoughts

By Ceirra EvansPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Alexander, Alexander you shine so bright

I can't believe you're the OG mood changer dependent on light.

Or is the light dependent on you? Have you got everyone fooled?

Nope, don't worry I am going to take these "jewelry owners" to school.

The first gazer from Finlad discovered your beauty.

Of course he felt it was his duty to

share your uniqueness with the world.

You were named after Russian royalty

The Ural mountains held you down with their loyalty.

Co-existence between the mountain and stones

So similar with humans and their bones.

From the skeleton of the mountain rock

Broken down to the atom of the block

Was a tiny piece of you changing colors

So vivid in your color scheme the mineralogist knew you weren't like the others.

Multiple tests and the best of the best

Technology, lights and microscopes

Curious viewers say it ranges from ruby to taupe.

So much value in the lightest carat

It is no mystery why everyone wants to wear it.

But no! You are far from a regular stone

Hell you are the "Beyoncé" of jewelry alone.

So go ahead with your bad self and I say with delight

Make sure your hands are "clean" when you encounter the rare gem

ALEXANDRITE!

-Fin

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ceirra Evans

I always thought my niche was only in computers and technology. I recently tried my hand at writing short stories and I’ve come to enjoy it a lot. I hope by being a part of this community that my writing skills become better in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.