Poets logo

Against Every Odd

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
4
Against Every Odd
Photo by alise storsul on Unsplash

In the end, I am glad I still have you

for all the bad memories, the list of reasons we did not work together, the ways we messed each other up,

you and I found a way to be friendly,

secretly supporting each other after all these years,

after formerly blocked phone numbers and all my harsh words

you kept your promise

to be there if I needed, to be my 3 a.m.,

and I can't say I understand it,

but I am trying to return the favor,

to be the friend I couldn't be before

because against every odd, you have always been there for me.

Friendship
4

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake27 days ago

    "to be the friend I couldn't be before" That line felt me much!!!

  • Andrea Corwin 27 days ago

    If only everyone had a 3am friend - someone to be there no matter…❣️

  • Suze Kay27 days ago

    Such a beautiful sentiment. I just read a cool article about how people shouldn’t “break up” with friends, rather let the friendship ebb and flow as it needs, because shared history is rare and important for soul nourishment. I love seeing this poem and feeling like it’s true!! Glad you beat the odds.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.