Poets logo

Again

and again and again

By Tim ZPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Flowers, balloons, a bottle of water, a missal. Next to the maternity ward window.

Again

When I first heard your voice

Like a sparrow landing on my shoulder

It was love at first sight.

When I actually saw you

Barely as tall as my chest, jewel eyes, round in the right places

It was love at first sight.

When you held my shirt between your thumb and forefinger

And led me across the classroom like a puppy

It was love at first sight.

When you told me no, there could be nothing between us

But you accepted the stuffed puppy I gave you for Christmas

It was love at first sight.

When I saw your bare body

Pale here and dark there, smelling deep and rich

It was love at first sight.

When I saw you enter the chapel

too small for an aisle to walk down, so you just walked through the door

It was love at first sight.

When you brought that silly, sweet creature into the world

Half you and half me, and you did it so well and so fast

It was love at first sight.

When it’s time to die

Let me die first, and die looking at you, hearing you, smelling you, kissing you

So I can love at last sight.

love poems

About the Creator

Tim Z

I love to read and I love to write. I love you, too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tim ZWritten by Tim Z

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.