Poets logo

Aftermath

Story of a Girl

By Malarie Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Aftermath
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Hi, my name is Malarie. I'm an addict.

I found this poem weeks after I wrote it in a drug induced haze. I have no memory of writing it, I must have been pretty messed up. I thank God for recovery and brighter days, this one was pretty gloomy.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lock me in a tower,

Take me away from this world.

Keep me shielded from evil,

I'm someone's little girl.

I need someone to help me,

stay on the right path

I need someone to remind me daily,

of the destructive aftermath

I need someone to notice,

that I'm slipping up

I need someone to notice,

when I'm on drugs

Why can't I stay sober?

Why am I so weak?

Why can't I stay sober?

It's like quick sand’s around my feet.

I'm being pulled down and the more I struggle the faster it goes.

I'm fighting just to keep my head afloat.

I came to you and said I needed help.

I exposed the darkest part of myself.

You hear me, but you don't understand how heavy this is.

Pacing with a cigarette on the porch...

asking for help, is a last resort.

The louder the voice gets, the longer it's ignored.

I hate this part of me. I want to disappear

I hate this part of me. It's dark and I'm scared.

Date unknown. 2020

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Malarie

do not use this site. It does not allow for religious content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.