Poets logo

Afterlife

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I could have told you all the things I’ve never got to.

If you fall off the Earth, I’m right here and I got you.

The time we’ve spent just wasn’t enough.

The air is full of carbon, but I just call it love.

Die with my heart and take it with you.

Hold me in your undead arms and breathe me in you.

When the sun comes up, afternight, I still don’t feel better.

Perhaps in the afterlife we can finally be together.

I’m calling from the otherside, will you answer the phone?

You’ve seen the end of life, but where did you go?

I starve for some love, and I’m a little peckish.

Still looking for a soul sifting through the wreckage.

Even though I’m breathing, inside I’m still dead-ish.

Kissed The Devil on the cheek, I guess I have a death wish.

Afterlife.. Taketh my soul.

Yes, my black heart is frozen, and it’s not even cold.

Many are my regrets, but I’ve already told you.

But, now that you’re dead, I’ll never get to hold you.

I loved you to death, wish I had the chance to show you.

And when they put you in the ground, I might as well just go too.

I try to see you, but just wake up in a hospital.

I want to see the afterlife, I heard it’s very cosmical.

I just want to dance with death,

Long enough to touch you.

If only I could wake the dead,

I would so I can hug you.

One foot is in the grave, as push comes to shove too.

My life can not be saved if it just doesn’t want to.

Afterlife.. Taketh me there.

Since you have been gone, I haven’t been that scared.

My afterlife.. Bringeth me home.

Let me see the white bright light, and all that is unknown.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.