Poets logo

After school ✏️

🍎

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
47
After school ✏️
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

In Grade school

The kids were so mean...

They'd stare at me and
Giggle behind my back...

In High School

I got better with

Pretending,

Nothing could break me down...

My Teacher said to write down

How you feel,

In our secret

Journals...

I'd write down

All of my emotions

Starting With:

I don't

Want to sit with those kids...

But I don't want to sit alone...

I saw my Teacher

Cry...

I thought adults were Braver

Then I had known...

In High School

I started

Reality

Dating,

And my mind

Got distracted,

I was hooked

On Loving

Instead of

Being

Hooked

On phonics...

You Broke my

Heart in mathematics...

But My teacher declared

Write Down, How you are feeling...

I started with:

I don't want to sit with those

Kids...

But I don't want to sit alone...

Whenever

I needed

To escape,

I'd just write in my

Journal...

I said:

I don't want to sit, with those kids...

But I don't want to sit alone...

I should have

Never

Accepted

That note from

You.

Why did you break

My heart

In a letter...

Thank God I read it

After school...

I wanted to Transfer…

I wanted to sob...

I wanted to ask you if you think

We can have another shot?

We told everyone else we broke up, but you never said why?

I just couldn't wait for

After School Id go home and Cry...

🎒📚

#Handsomelouiithepoet #Afterschool #AfterSchool #poetry

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakexcerpts
47

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • S.T.Seelanabout a year ago

    Awesome

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    So many memories flood back on your words. I'm reaching for the subscribe button right now...

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Heart wrenching

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    This poem is excellent! The use of repetition and short, abrupt lines keep the images and emotions moving and building. The line "In High School I got better with pretending" stood out to me especially.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I keep wondering why high school kids are so wrapped up in relationships instead of enjoying their youth. Time and tide changes, I suppose. Heartfelt poem.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Your emotions feels so raw, vulnerable and inspiring in this piece! So well written! I appreciate you sharing this journey with us!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    The poem captures the raw emotions of feeling ostracized and heartbroken while emphasizing the therapeutic nature of writing as an outlet for coping with difficult experiences.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I feel that. That feeling of wanting to love someone, or even just to be friends, and it gets trampled on in return. First they promise to be there, but their lies prove that they're not fair. It's not just false promises, but they only talk with You to move You around their world as they see fit. If You don't fit the role they have for You, they'll lose all contact even if they're still in touch with Your other friends and family. Even if You're surrounded by loved ones they can make You feel isolated, making You feel twice as jaded. It just hurts, man. I feel You.

  • Liviu Romanabout a year ago

    I just wanted to express my appreciation for your story and the time you took to share it with us. Your words really resonated with me, and I'm excited to follow your writing and see what you have in store for us in the future.

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Beautiful! Growing up is so hard. Congrats on your to story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    A very heartfelt poem. Congratulations on a well deserved top story

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Beautiful and touching words 💕 congratulations as well 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉❤️❤️

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    I love and appreciate your transparency

  • Triantafyllos Saridisabout a year ago

    Excellent poem! It was one of the best I read in vocal!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Heartfelt & heartbreaking💕

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    So much heart and honesty. Love it.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Phenomenal! Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yay. congrats on the Top story

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh goodness, I wanted to hug that sweet child! You really captured so many emotions. Great work and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Excellent work and congratulations on your Top Story

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Your heartfelt poems cut right to the core of emotions. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I always am engaged by your raw and honest poetry! Beautiful and congratulations my friend!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellent flow and very engaging. It's sad that you can't teach some kids that words and actions hurt. Their bubble will burst one day though. 💖

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Really well structured, honest and raw. Thank you for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.