Poets logo

After R.I.P. of 2023

comes a new beginning (L.C. Schafer's January Prompts)

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
11
Hoping for a New Beginning

When I think of new beginnings, I first have to put to rest the old man of my life, those patterns and habits that kept me together in the sometimes treacherous days I survived the year before. Some of my patterns and habits are consistently bad and some are occasionally brilliant for repairs of the collateral damage I have accrued. So, along with the facing off of my enemies from within and without, I must make appraisal as to what is valuable for me to retain. So, in my estimation, a new beginning is a difficult task. I don't like being moved or challenged or changed. Do you? Does anyone really?

I think we all have the hope that a sudden rebirth will be automatic and ever so lovely. But have we forgotten the pangs and spasms of what labor is like? It is a curse, if truth be told. But once started, a delivery, nonetheless, will occur. We have no idea what the new baby will look like, but we have our imaginations based on the propensities and whims of DNA, of course. We have faith in our character that we will embrace this new child and guide it, keep it safe, and watch it grow, praying that it will love us back for the investment we have in it. Or do we? I find it a little frightening, if I am to be honest. Will I be a good parent of the new "me?"

There is so much expectation to this concept and the pressure is a bit overwhelming. And as I succumb to the fact that I have no control, really...well, maybe therein lies the problem. But there is a vague sense that maybe I can ease the anxiety with hope. I hope there will be no death in this new year for my family. I hope that the people I love will give up their addictions and turn to better coping mechanisms, healthier ones. I hope that we all get better and not bitter. I want this new baby to bring laughter and love and closer, healthier relationships. Here's to the hope of New Beginnings.

Mental HealthFree Verse
11

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Well written. Wishing you a very happy new year! ❤❤❤

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Wishing all your dreams and more come true in 2024😊💕

  • Aaliyah Madison4 months ago

    Nice work!

  • This was very touching, optimistic and uplifting! Wishing you a veryyyyy Happy New Year and may only good things come your way! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Excellent themes and nicely written Shirley. 😊👍

  • Wow Shirley... great start to 2024! "Will I be a good parent of the new "me?" Intriguing take on a fresh New Year!

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    In addition to all those hopes that we have for ourselves and our loved ones, I also hope that 2024 will bring an end to the current wars. Happy New Year, Shirley!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    So true, to acknowledge the pain of birthing and parenting. I hope your hopes are fulfilled.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.